It is narrated that Ibn Abbas (may Allah be pleased with him and his father) said:

“Four people I could not repay back:

1) A man that greeted me first with Salam,

2) And a man who made space for me in the Majlis [to sit],

3) And a man whose foot [walked with me] to fulfill a need [I have],

4) As for the fourth, no one can repay him back except Allah –Exalted and Glorified is He-

So he was asked: And who is that?

So he said: A man, who some trouble afflicted him, so he spent the night thinking of who he can ask for assistance, then he found me worth of that [honour], so he asked me for assistance in it”. [1][2]

Reference:

[1] Wafiyaat al-A’yaan 3/63, Al-Mujalasa wa Jawaher Al-Ilm (with a weak chain) 1/149

[2] Benefitted from: https://www.facebook.com/youssefabourahmah/

 

يحكى عن ابن عباس رضي الله عنهما أنه قال أربعة لا أقدر على مكافأتهم :
١- رجل بدأني بالسلام
٢- ورجل وسع لي في المجلس
٣- ورجل اغبرت قدماه في المشي في حاجتي
٤- فأما الرابع فما يكافئه عني إلا الله عز وجل
قيل : ومن هو ؟
قال : رجل نزل به أمر فبات ليلته يفكر فيمن يقصده ثم رآني أهلاً لحاجته فأنزلها بي .

[ وفيات الأعيان ٣ / ٦٣ ]

footprints-in-sand11[1]

