Qutaibah Ibn Saeed said:

I arrived to Baghdad, and did not have a goal except to meet Ahmed Ibn Hanbal, but he was the one that actually came to me with Yahya Ibn Ma’een. We [sat and] studied [together], then Ahmed Ibn Hanbal stood up and sat before me, and said: Dictate to me this, then we studied together, then he stood up again and sat before me, so I said: Oh Abu Abdullah, stay seated in your place.

So he said: Don’t worry about me, I want to take knowledge as it is supposed to be taken [1].

Reference:

[1] Manaqib al-Imam Ahmed by Ibn al-Jawzi

قال قتيبة بن سعيد: قدمت بغداد, وما كانت لي همة إلا أن ألقى أحمد بن حنبل, فإذا هو قد جاءني مع يحيى بن معين, فذاكرنا, فقام أحمد بن حنبل وجلس بين يدي وقال: أمل علي هذا, ثم تذاكرنا, فقام أيضا وجلس بين يدي, فقلت: يا أبا عبد الله, أجلس مكانك. فقال: لا تشتغل بي, إني أريد أن آخذ العلم على وجهه.ـ

