Abdullah ibn [Al-Imam] Ahmad said: When the death of my father drew near, I sat with him, so he kept sweating and then awakening, and then opening his eyes and saying [gesturing] with his hand like this: Not yet, Not yet. He did this one time and then another.

When he was in the third, I told him: O my Father, what is that you are continually doing at this time? You sweat until we say that you have passed, then you come back and say: Not yet, Not yet!

So he told me: O my Son, don’t you know what I said? I said: No.

He said: Satan, may Allah curse him, is standing beside me, biting on his fingers, and telling me: O Ahmad you have escaped me, so I tell him: Not yet, Not yet, [not] until I have died [1].

Reference:

[1] Sifat Al-Safwa 2/233

قال عبد الله بن أحمد: لما حضرت أبي الوفاة, جلست عنده، فجعل يعرق ثم يفيق, ثم يفتح عينيه . ويقول بيده هكذا : لا بعد, لا بعد، ففعل هذا مرة وثانية. فلما كان في الثالثة قلت له: يا أبت, أي شيء هذا, قد لهجت به في هذا الوقت؟ تعرق حتى نقول قد قضيت, ثم تعود فتقول: لا بعد, لا بعد. فقال لي: يا بني ما تدري ما قلت؟ قلت: لا. فقال: إبليس لعنه الله قائم حذائي, عاض على أنامله يقول لي: يا أحمد فتني، فقلت: لا بعد, لا بعد, حتى أموت.ـ

